Draw Near

**This is something I posted on my Facebook page a while back. I came across a passage of Scripture that seemed to contradict itself. We are holding God’s hand, we are with Him. Then it says that we should draw near to Him… This thought struck me. I hope it encourages and exhorts you.

Psalm 73:23
Nevertheless, i am continually with thee: Thou hast holden me by my right hand.
Psalm 73:28
But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the lord GOD, that I may declare all thy works.

God is always with us, he is even holding us by our right hand. But there is a difference between being held by the hand of God, and drawing near unto Him.
A parent might hold a child by the hand, but the child might not be near to the parent. The child may be pulling back, pulling towards every other little thing that catches his eye and youthful interest.

But when the child is unsure, when he is afraid, when he doesn’t know what is coming or what may happen, being held by the hand of his parent holds a much different picture. The child draws close to the parent, he clings to them, possibly even grasping the parents leg with his free arm.

Would that we should draw close to God in such childlike trust. Would that we should cling to our heavenly Father the way we once clung to our parents when times were unsure. Would that we would cling to God with such love even when the times were easy.

Psalm 73:23
Nevertheless, i am continually with thee: Thou hast holden me by my right hand.
Psalm 73:28
But it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord GOD, that I may declare all thy works.

Nevertheless, when the danger passes and the fears are gone, the child opens his clenched eyes, and sees his father staring down at him, a smile of assurance and love upon his face. A sweet smile of trust and devotion steels across the face of the child. He clasps his father’s hand now, and clings to his side. Not because of the fear, for the fear has passed, but because his father is the one that bore him through the storm.

So should we, when we find ourselves straining against the hand of God, our youthful interest causing our eyes to wander. So should we feel the gentle reminding tug of our Father’s hand, and turn to see his face, and remember the storm.

Psalm 73:25,26
Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.
My flesh and my heart faileth: but God strength of my heart, and my portion forever.

Leave a Reply

